Online shopping is significantly increasing. What effects does this have on the environment and the types of jobs required?

In our modern society, the current trend of ever increasing online shopping among the public, has become a matter of discussion for many. There are numerous negative consequences of this tendency on the environment, and in this essay, I shall critically examine the given debate and outline relevant examples to this topic. Firstly, as the number of imported and exported items by the e-commerce companies is rising sharply, so does the levels of the pollution resulting from a higher amount of the transportation vehicles being utilised. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University showed that in the last decade the percentage of the total air pollution has grown significantly, owning to the increased demand of the online materials. Thus, fuelling further spike in the various detrimental effects of this trend. Secondly, this growing fashion is also affecting the employment market on a number of levels. To begin with, a great deal of new job opportunities are now being available to the public. This is due to the significant growth in the e-commerce market. In stark contrast, this has also resulted in a decreased volume of the employment options in other fields. In addition, as the use of such websites is escalating rapidly, it is resulting in an increased demand of the IT professionals. Because of this, many students are now seeking a career in the Telecommunications. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of the subject, it is clear that there are both positive and negative consequences of this movement, and in the future, it will be fruitful to review the above stated reasons in order to make a conclusive decision in this direction.