Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

There is no doubt that the ownership of private vehicles is increasing at an incessant rate over the past thirty years. Residents of many developed countries, therefore, often spend the majority of their commuting hours in the traffic jam. Thus, I do accord with the above-mentioned statement and in this essay, both the veracity of the problem and pertinent solutions will be highlighted. To start with, myriad people are facing hurdles to reach their destination due to countless waiting hours in a jam. This is because the economy of the whole world has expanded more than before and an increasing number of people have uplifted themselves from the poverty line. To give an example, a recent study produced by the Harvard University has revealed in late 2018 that the purchasing power to buy fleets in developing nations has unfolded by 3 times at least. In addition, numerous high roads and alleys have remained in the same proportion and length for the last 50 years, whereas the number of vehicles has doubled. One apposite solution is that Governments of a few countries may impose strict policies and regulations to pay taxes for individuals, concerning about traffic jams. That is to say, commuters would not be comfortable to pay extra money based on the mileage and it will gear them towards a limited travelling hours. Furthermore, many authorities should encourage and nudge the use of public transportation systems with different offers and promotions. For instance, regular employees in Bangkok, Thailand use sky trains at peak hours with a personalised card system and as a result, city-centric roads tend to be free. In my opinion, this is indeed unfortunate because the number of cars will not be lessened soon as the consumption is rising and roads are remaining the same like before. To sum up, if city authorities impose high taxes upon using cars and inspire the use of train or bus, roads will be triggered to be empty.