Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

In recent days the demand for solar power has grown significantly and many houses are now relying on solar panels as a main source of power which are not only cheaper but also environment-friendly. Although there are many benefits of tapping into solar spirit, due to the certain limitations and drawbacks, it is not possible to completely rely on it. Firstly, there are some potential benefits due to which many governments across the globe have started to allocate resources to harness solar toughness, particularly some developing countries whose major cities are dealing with pollution created by burning of fossil fuels to meet vitality demands. Furthermore, solar vitality is non-perishable which implies that the government will need to spend only on its installation without having to rely on the dwindling fossil fuels such as coal and oil. Another key benefit of switching to solar stamina is that it is less vulnerable to natural disasters such as floods or any unforeseen incident which could disrupt the electricity supply to major cities. Last but not least, solar panels require little maintenance in contrast to thermal and hydro-power plants which presents a significant strain on the budget of the government. But there are some potential drawbacks due to which large scale adoption of solar power may not be possible in the near future. A major obstacle is the initial cost of solar panels and batteries which are quite expensive for middle-class people to afford. Another reason could be the weather in some places such as Europe and North America, which receive a little amount of sunshine, thus, complete reliance on solar strength to light household may not be feasible for countries in these regions. In conclusion, although the solar intensity has proven to be cost effective, environment friendly and requires no dependence on fossil fuels, in my opinion, completely switching to solar efficiency may not be possible due to its installation cost and limitations in places which do not receive sufficient sunshine required for solar panels to work and produce electricity for domestic sectors and houses.