Prisons are an expensive way of making bad people worse’ To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime rates are increasing rapidly among many countries around the world. Some groups of people believe that it takes too much expense to imprison the criminals and also it makes bad people worse. I totally disagree with the topic and express my views below On the first hand, it is the duty of the government to carry out expenditure of the country properly to execute each and every department. Various sectors like hospitals, educational institutes even jails require a certain amount of money for its working. Prisoners are not treated with five star luxury items such as air conditioner rooms or well hygiene, food, they are given very simple rooms with simple food only. Besides, some prisons also make them work to earn from them such as the Sabarmati jail in Ahmedabad gets the work done by the prisoners at food stalls. On the other hand, it is observed that the majority of criminals commit crime coincidently, they are not the professional criminals. The situation or the incidence occurs in such a way that they are unable to handle the situation for which they have bare the loss of certain golden days of their life behind the bars. Although because of few professional criminals, many normal prisoners face problems till their lifetime. To conclude, despite giving hard punishments to occasional criminals, the government should focus more on professionals and also prisons should treat criminals as a human being rather than be harsh with them.