FIRST IMPRESSIONS “Your first impressions when you meet someone are always right.” Do you agree with this statement? Write your essay giving your opinion using examples from your own experience. (200-250 words)

First impressions are part of our daily life. Every day, when we meet someone new, we immediately form an impression of them based on their appearance and behaviour. Yet, are first impressions really that important? From my point of view, they are quite irrelevant and often misleading. To begin with, first impressions only allow us to catch a glimpse of the person’s character. In other words, we are not what we look like and therefore we cannot know people just by looking at them for a few seconds. For example, somebody who is an introvert and shy, at first glance could come across as unfriendly and mean, when in reality, once you get to know them, they could be immensely kind and caring. Furthermore, first impressions are not accurate as they might not reflect how the individual truly is. In fact, people tend to act slightly different when first coming in contact with a stranger. For instance, in my personal experience I found that people are prone to be more friendly and down-to-earth when making the acquaintance of somebody new. However, there are occasions in which first impressions are important, such as job interviews. In this case, it is crucial to make a good impact on the recruiter. In conclusion, there are specific situations in which first impressions are important, but that does not mean that they are also true. As a result, I believe that it is not wise to judge someone just by their appearance or behaviour.