In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, advertising businesses put emphasis on the fact that their products are new in some way. This is because people are more likely to be interested in things that they think are unique. I personally view this as a positive trend due to the possible technological advancements this might result in. To begin with, people tend to be more drawn to products that are different from the past because they spark curiosity, which leads to them wanting to purchase the product to know more about it. For example, the new foldable phone that Samsung launched recently. This new technology sparked numerous interests because it has never been done before, no one could have imagined a smartphone that could be folded, which resulted in them getting millions of sales within just a few weeks upon release. I think this a positive development because the excitement and interest new technologies bring to customers makes it so that companies work hard to create new products or make enhancement to an existing product as frequently as possible to increase their popularity and profits. For instance, phone companies make upgrades to their models every year to make more sales. This in turn pushes technology further, consequently making our society more technologically advanced. In conclusion, the advertisement industry emphasizes their products being brand new to catch more attention and sales because people are attracted to new advanced things, which results in continuous advancements in technology. Thus, I see this as a positive development for our world.