Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

In the old days, museums used to be thought suitable for historians and archaeologists, but not only for the ordinary visitor; however, the popularity of museums is more and more expanded. Every year, national museums welcome a large number of visitors, including students, scholars and foreign tourists and thus to lead to a heated-debate. Some people propose that charge for admission is necessary to a historical place; whereas, others claim that it should be free. Both opposite opinions have own benefits and drawbacks. The most important reason is that free tickets encourage citizens and tourists a visit to the museums. Some people, especially students, who are not able to afford the entry fee, seem to be discouraged from comprehending useful information and knowledge in museums. From society’ perspective, without charge for admission, citizens have much more opportunities to access significant places to learn history, art, science and so on; therefore, historical and educational meanings of display objects in museums are easier to approach the learners. But for a visit to a dinosaur museum, people hardly observe directly many parts of a dinosaur, how big it is; moreover, visitors are provided more details thanks to description below every specimen. However, the drawbacks of no charge for admission are also remarkable. First of all, museums needs money to operate which covers their business such as personnel costs, equipment, electricity and water bills. In addition, museums of history and art require a large amount of maintenance display models such as animal bones, dead bodies of insects, picture frames and so on. A severe system of moisture controlling, and even repair costs are essential to ensure the specimen intact. Moreover, it is true that museums need revenue for updating their exhibits, keeping the space clean and good-looking. Unlike cinemas or parks, museums are mostly visited by once only; therefore, innovation is crucial to attract historical or art or science lovers to maintain their habits learning at these ‘treasured houses’. In conclusion, although free entry brings some benefits, the need for income such as charge for admission is necessary to operate a museum. In my point of view, the value of a museum brings back outweigh greater than a ticket. However, to stimulate the spirits of learning lovers, managers could balance the entry price so that most of citizens and tourists afford for visits.