Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The university is an institution that transforms individuals into intellectuals, and equips them with skills that would be beneficial in the workplace. While some people support this view, others argue that institutions of higher learning should be more concerned with educating its students just for the sake of knowledge. This essay will discuss the main function of a university. I believe that the most important duty of higher institutions is to provide basic knowledge and skills that will be needed in the workplace because these days most employers are in search of qualified employees. For example, in most countries, hospital boards are only interested in hiring doctors who have degrees in medicine and surgery, and this is because they are awarded by universities, who ensure that students cover the specific course content and clinical training required. Thus, producing professionals with exceptional clinical skills, who give excellent care to their patients. Therefore, it is necessary for students to gain enough experience within the university environment. In addition, there is evidence to suggest that graduates who have a good grasp of what their job entails, make outstanding contributions in their place of employment, unlike their coworkers who are not qualified. Moreover, a good example of this can be seen in some private sector organizations in Nigeria, such as pearl group of companies, who has witnessed remarkable growth because of its overly qualified staff force. To sum up, I strongly support that universities provide the necessary resources to its students, as it will be beneficial to them and their employers. Higher institutions should be encouraged to adequately prepare its students for the highly competitive job market.