In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Electronic books are getting popular around the world. Every day, millions of readers read virtual books on their laptops, mobile phones, and computers instead of printed copies. E-reading not only beneficial for readers, but also fruitful for the community. Although some people may argue that it is a negative trend as it affects eyesight and costly, others with myself believe that it has advantages both for the individual and society. Indeed, virtual reading provides the convenience of accessibility to all people so that a person can read journals anywhere, at any time. Arguably, the masses do not need to visit bookshops to buy soft-copies, they can easily make purchases on the internet, whereby it saves the time of travelling. For instance, nowadays, individuals do not have to wait for many days for famous international periodicals due to import trading, thereby they can easily get those virtual documents by doing online shopping from the Amazon. Thus, e-books give the comfortability of 24 hours access to its customers. Furthermore, the electronic media are eco-friendly. The virtual platform does not require papers to make printing work, which not only reducing tree cutting but also help to balance the ecosystem. Also, less deforestation can lower down, the air pollution owing to this, many humans would live in a fresh and healthy environment. According to the USA environmental department, 30% forest destruction has been decreased in the last 5 years in printing paper just because people preferred to read online books. Hence, natural resources can be protected to a great extend by accepting electronic books. In conclusion, soft-copy reading plays a crucial role in society alongside paper-based reading. Nevertheless, ease for readers and environment-friendly have some merits of software based reading that outweigh the disadvantages.