Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think this is a good thing?

As millennials of the industrial revolution, adaptation to consumption seems an undeniable fact and playing a role as consistent consumers is inseparable from daily lives. One of the destructive shapes of unhealthy shopping behaviour is excessive purchasing which becomes ubiquitous among people. Two main reasons why excessive buying occurs, lie in availability of infinite brands and unhealthy shopping behavioural patterns. Personally, I believe this trend possesses detrimental consequences. In the first place, over the past decades, materialistic lifestyle dictates a shopping style to consumers which is not in accordance with their needs by contrast, becoming up-to-date and trendy. Tendency to buy unnecessities have been skyrocketing, as the market provides the nuances of the products. Creating competitive atmosphere is one of the major marketing strategies to encourage not only companies for massive production but also unconscious excessive consumption by people. For instance, while fast fashion companies provide high-copy trendy fashion items of luxurious brands with fair prices, after a short period of time, these products become unusable due to usage of low-quality materials. On the other hand, unhealthy shopping behavioural patterns like; addictive or obsessive behaviours have a negative influence on shopping-related decisions. Detrimental shopping behaviours are symptoms of unstable mental health which may derive from psychological or financial issues. Some research suggests addictive shopping is an insentient effort of consumers to fill their voids and process of shopping assists them to ignore their fundamental issues. To conclude, unnecessary consumption trend originates from two main factors; tempting consumers by providing an infinite variety of goods through marketing, advertising policies; moreover, psychological and financial originated harmful shopping behaviours. From my point of view, buying excessively will bring about crucial consequences for economies and psychological aspects.