Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There have been some recent arguments that the government should collect more tax on gasoline to reduce pollution and traffic levels. I am convinced that this taxation would bring more benefits than drawbacks for society. One prominent disadvantage of this plan is the number of jobs that would be lost in the oil and gas industry. Such a tax increase would undoubtedly lead to immense revenue-cut for companies such as British Petrol, Exxon, Mobile, and Shell. To put it another way, these companies would have less budget to hire new employees, or even maintain their existing labour force. As a result, people who are now working in the industry may lose their jobs. Despite this, there are more advantages to this proposal. For starters, it will certainly decrease pollution levels and ease traffic in cities. This is because commuters who drive to work now would seek alternative ways to reach their destinations as gasoline prices rise. Consequently, there will be fewer cars on the streets, resulting in pollution reduction. In addition, the tax collected could fund more research projects on greener energy. Harvard University, for instance, has recently established a new research, where scholars and scientists could collaborate to improve the efficiency of solar panels. There's no doubt that projects such as this could accelerate their progress if given a sufficient budget. To conclude, while the increase in tax is likely to cost the oil and gas industry jobs, it is outweighed by the advantages it would bring. I believe this plan can effectively decrease traffic and pollution levels, and the tax collected can be used to support greener energy projects financially.