Some people feel that goverments should take a large proportion of people's salaries to pay for necessary services such as roads and school. Other feel that high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both of view and your own opinion

There is an ongoing controversy in society regarding how the necessary services provided by the government should be funded. Some opine it should charge higher taxes; whereas, others view that high taxes are bad. This essay will evaluate both views and conclude with my opinion. On one side of the viewpoint, people say a larger proportion should be taken from earnings. This tax is then revenue for the authority to fund spending on providing goods and services. The more the funds, the more the provision of public goods. Thus, taxes from the income earners give more in return to them, such as, more education institutes available for their children, smoother roads and improved healthcare. In addition, tax is the main source of revenue for the nation. Without these, the government will not be able to pay for its current expenditure or capital expenditure. It is impossible to run a nation without money. If they are not collected, the other available source of earnings would be the proceeds generated from services such as utilities and public transportation. However, to be able to provide these services, the state needs to spend on the infrastructure, which would not be possible without these contributions. On the other hand of the argument, the public is opposed to the idea of taxation. This can be because of corruption in some countries. For instance, the state could be providing less than its maximum potential and slipping some funds into the politicians' pockets. Furthermore, the tax scheme may be unfair. For example, wealthier individuals pay a smaller proportion than poorer ones. This means that the burden of the tax falls more heavily on the poorer population rather than the wealthier ones. Take, for instance, the VAT collected by Thai officials. It amounts to 7%. Everyone pays equally, but it is considered regressive as it falls more heavily on those in poverty. In conclusion, the government should take a higher proportion of duty from income. Capital is needed to fund infrastructure projects, and to build a nation on borrowed funds would be the biggest mistake a nation would make. However, the system should be properly organised, and it should be fair and free from corruption.