Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, emphasis has been made on altering the justice system, especially with regard to the manner in which punishments are meted out to offenders. While some people support that specific disciplinary actions be served to individual offences, others believe that the events surrounding the atrocity and reasons for it should be considered before punishment. This essay will examine both views, but I support the latter side of the argument. On the one hand, the main advantage of punishing criminals, according to each misdemeanour committed is that it serves as a deterrent to potential offenders. For example, over the past few decades in Nigeria, the crime rate has drastically dipped by 40% on account of an amendment of the constitution relating to criminal and financial crimes, which postulates that each violation must receive a specific sentence or punishment. However, this rigid practice of dishing out justice has also led to a rise in the number of wrongly convicted people, and also has no tolerance for pardoning criminals. On the other hand, cross-examination of circumstances surrounding the infraction and the reasons for committing it is in accordance to civil rights, which states that every person has the right to speak and to be heard. Therefore, this practice would ensure that no individual is wrongfully accused or convicted of a wrongdoing and ultimately will enforce justice. Furthermore, it enables people who have committed non-heinous crimes to receive pardon. In conclusion, although legalising a constant method of disciplining criminals may be beneficial, it also has its disadvantages and thus, more attention should be paid to the motive behind the misconduct. I hope our leaders will reform its judiciary, in order to enable transparency in this arm of government.