Some feel that it is a waste of time to plan for the future and it is more important to focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is growing sentiment today that making plans for the future can take one out of the present moment. Although it is important to have some general future goals, individuals ought to prioritise right now. The clear advantage of having goals is that they dictate and align your actions. A good counterexample to support this comes from aimless individuals without any fixed aspirations. It is not uncommon for recent university graduates to feel lost and drift from job to job. This can be a rewarding experience, but if it continues too long then one will likely remain in low-paying positions and fall behind one ’s peers. A clear goal can motivate a decision on long-term vocation and force one to put in the hard work required to excel. Despite the general advantages of having some long-term goals listed above, obsessing over the future can impair connection with the present. There are many famous literary examples of this that reveal underlying tensions between capitalist striving and individual contentment, such as in the famous novel Babbitt by Sinclair Lewis. The titular character Babbitt has spent most of his life looking to the future and accomplishing middle class goals. He grows dissatisfied with this life because he no longer feels a vibrant connection to the present moment and his true feelings. His suspension of his deepest desires to meet extrinsic goals set by society alienates him from the present. This is commonly referred to as a mid- life crisis and is very common among driven individuals who reach a pinnacle of success. In conclusion, emphasis on future goals is one source of modern unhappiness. Individuals must carefully select their goals to distinguish between the life they want and the life they are expected to want.