Some people prefer to travel around town by car, while others prefer public transit such as bus, train, or subway. Discuss both these positions and give your own opinion.

Since the last couple of decade choices of transportation has changed dramatically. Most people are in favour of using their personal vehicles to move within the city. Whereas, others travel by mass transit such as bus, train, or an underground railway. In my view, people should practice public transportation rigorously in order to avoid traffic congestions as well as to reduce air pollution. To start with, private vehicles like cars are more convenient to commute within the town as they provide comfortable sitting and allow you to visit places of interest at one´s convenience. Besides, at the time of emergency, it acts as a mode of rescue which increases its popularity. For instance, if a person is seriously ill in the family, one can use his/her own vehicle to catch the hospital. Because of these benefits, people choose their personal cars to move around in the inner city. Mass transportation, on the other hand, is selected by a large number of people as it reduces traffic gridlock which allows people to reach their destinations in time. In addition, it is affordable and anyone can adopt them regardless of their social status. Although sometimes it is crowded, people still enjoy these rides and build social relationships. Also, it is safe to go around with public transport, as the drivers are more careful and responsible for the trip. For example, in the case of any technical fault in-vehicle, passengers are moved to the other vehicle and dropped safely to their places. These are some advantages of public transport that not only save money, but also control air pollution. In summary, because of convenience, some people need cars and others, such as middle-class people and the elderly prefer public transit as they live paycheque to paycheque. I feel people should go to public transport in order to serve the community.