Several languages die every year. Many people feel this is a positive trend and that a world with fewer languages promotes harmony and understanding between people. Analyze both sides of this argument and provide your opinion.

Many languages around the globe fade away every year, often replaced with more widely spoken dialects. It is argued that whether it is a positive or a negative trend. Some people believe that sharing a common language may help to encourage economic development, while others believe that the death of a lingo is associated with the lose of heritage and cultural values. Both of these accounts will be examined before a conclusion is reached. Admittedly, the global adoption of a single terminology can do a lot in promoting economical development. For instance, all export companies in China hire English speaking people to help them communicate with foreign buyers. In other words, the growth in trade that comes as a result of this effort. Speaking an international language does create opportunities of jobs and industries around the world. Hence, it is clear that having less languages gives more opportunities to explore the world more closely. Although people would get a chance to know each other very well and eventually it may bring harmony among nations. Contrary to that, critics believe that the rapid reduction of indigenous languages is making it increasingly hard to trace where and how people evolved. To illustrate this, during colonial times, many lesser spoken African vernaculars were replaced with English, French and Dutch. It caused major problems for modern day historians, as these older cultures are too difficult to enlightened by the archivists. After carefully analysing both sides, it is felt that more good comes from the global adoption of a single language than the preservation and practice of older ones. Due to globalisation, societies ought to standardise a single linguistic system.