Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good member of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It has been common sense that we have to become a good member of society. It is often argued that this should be taught by parents, whilst others disagree and think it is the responsibility of the school. Nonetheless, I would argue that children should learn how to be good members of society through home education provided by family. Parents taught children a lot of things, including how to be a good person. Moreover, they are far more comfortable learning from their parents as they are the person who raised them. It is therefore agreed that they should learn good manners from their parents. For instance, when I was little, I used to follow every bit of things that my parents did, such as appreciating other people, showing my gratitude to others, and greeting the elderly to show politeness. However, many people disagree and feel that the schools are responsible for teaching children proper action and manners, as the schools have their own lessons regarding character building. In this case, school is the reflection of the small-scale society that is similar to the real world. Hence, children learn to practice what the school has taught, for example to behave well and manage their attitude toward others by showing respect to teachers and peers. Henceforth, it will be ingrained in their mind and hearts so that when they grow up, they can be a person whose morals and behaviour are accepted by society, leading them to become a good member of society. In conclusion, while parents can teach children good manners, some still feel that the school is the perfect place to build children ’s character. Nevertheless, I believe that parent's role is far crucial in shaping children's behaviour and manner so that they can practice those aspects at school, which is a small-scale society.