Word Limit: 200 - 250 words. *Please do not exceed 300 words. Duration: 1 hour only Question Some people think that children should not watch television, because it has negative effects, while others believe it helps children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent decades, there have been a growing trend towards watching television especially in children. Although, some traditionalists suppose that this issue comes at the expense of children, I still believe that children could benefit from this. On the one hand, there are numbers of the beneficial effects on shows among children. First, thanks to the TV set development, motion pictures are an effective way that could prompt children’s creativity. Indeed, if children watch some useful channels such as Discovery, National Geographic particularly CocoMelon, they can learn more knowledge and foreign languages. In fact, the current children’s generations in Vietnam have improved their study significantly by watching these channels. In addition, some educational and informative channels have played fundamental tools in schools, which are conducive to entertainment and relaxation in teaching. Nevertheless, watching television without parental supervision can trigger some negative impacts. Firstly, watching unsuitable shows can lead to many consequences on children’s mindset. These shows are extremely harmful to them if they engage most of the time on it. For example, in recent years, criminal ages have become younger in the US due to influences of watching violent and sexual movies. When the children watch these footages, they can mimic characters in the films. Second, staring at television screens can be a contributing factor to children’s health. It is true that most primary school children have some problems with mental and physical health especially eye-shortsighted. Therefore, parents’ roles are very crucial in dealing with the issues and supervise their children. In conclusion, although the trend might be difficult to reverse, parents and school should cooperate to tackle it. In my point of view, parents should limit channels and times if they allow their children to watch the shows.