Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

These days, the amount of trash has been increased as time passes because of the growing population. The purpose of this paper is the argue the reason for generating more and more and to suggest some remedies by the government for this problem.  One of the contributing factors is that the worldwide populations have been increasing at an alarming rate. In proportion to the population, it has no choice but to the producing more garbage. The other reasons is that the lack of awareness, while some organizations or communities are attempting to reduce the figure for rubbish. Even though they did their best, the majority of citizens are unwilling to change their behaviours. It is because they are likely to prioritize over their interests, do not have much knowledge about it. Therefore, they are not trying to reduce garbages, and even litter. The government only has ability to tackle to this issue at national scale with some solutions. The most effective way is using advertisement on media such as television, commercial and YouTube, which is one of the most popular video application among young generations. According to the psychological survey, the audiences are easily influenced by celebrities. The other method which is associated with the solution is that implementation of regulations or laws. For instance, in Kyoto prefecture, the local communities set a regulation to charge penalty if citizens litter in the street, and then the conditions become much better thanks to it. Harsher punishments must contribute to transforming their habits. In conclusion, the amount of trash is produced by people who do not have an awareness and knowledge as increasing population, whereas the government authorities can solve this serious problem.