Some people think that money should be spent on protecting endangered species while others think it is a waste of valuable money. What is your opinion?

Every country in the world is working towards saving the indigenous endangered species because of their vital role in ecosystem and their importance to the scientific community. Yet many people consider the expenditure towards the protection of such animals as a waste of nation’s capital. In my opinion, this near extinct animals must be protected and this essay would discuss the importance in detail. According to Charles Darwin’s theory of Evolution, every living species have adapted itself to adjust to its surroundings. Thus, different species of animals play an important role in maintaining the balance of their ecosystem. For example, an endangered species of tortoise, found in the lakes of evergreen forest eat insects living in the water and thus controlling their population in the lake, this phenomenon if known as food chain balancing. If the population of tortoise falls short, the insect’s population would burst thus affecting other animals in the surrounding. As a result, such endangered species must be protected in order to maintain the vital balance of the nature. Secondly, these endangered species are important for scientists to learn about the pre-historic ages. Scientists study the biological makeup of these animals, analyse their DNA and perform various tests to unearth facts regarding pre-historic earth. For example, scientist have been studying the Comodo Dragon, a near extinct species found in Malaysia and distant relatives to dinosaurs, and recently were able to describe the earth’s atmosphere one million years ago by studying the scales on the oldest Comodo Dragon. Thus, such endangered species are vital for us to understand about the prevailing conditions on earth before the dawn of mankind. In conclusion, every species, including the endangered ones, help maintain the ecological balance furthermore, they are the only remaining living evidence of pre-historic ages, which is crucial for scientists who have been studying conditions on earth before mankind.