some people say the main environmental problem of our time is loss of particular species of plants and animals. others say there are more important environmental problems . Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that the main environmental problem nowadays is the extinction of plants and animals while others believe that several other ecological problems exist. In my opinion, this loss of fauna and flora is the main problem our planet is experiencing. One the one hand, some people believe and I agree that human activities have resulted in the extinction of several species of plants and animals resulting in imbalance of the ecosystem. The presence of these animals is extremely important to maintain the food chain in which small animals eat the plants and bigger animals survive on preying the smaller animals. The absence of one factor from food chain will render the ecological system unstable, which will eventually affect the whole universe. The human beings will be the final sufferers in this case. Hence, the protection of endangered species should be the main of environmentalists. On the other hand, other people believe that many other environmental problems exist like depletion of the ozone layer. The production of greenhouse gases like carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide from burning of fossil fuels has resulted in depletion of the protective layer. This layer protects us from the harmful radiations which may cause cancer in human populations. Hence, the emission from automobiles and factories should be reduced to protect the ozone layer. Another important environmental issue is the discharge of industrial chemicals into sea and river without proper recycling. This has polluted the drinking water and has several health hazards like diarrhoea and intestinal infections. In conclusion, the universe is faced with several environmental issues the biggest being the extinction of plants and animal species while other problems like depletion of ozone layer do exist and has a detrimental effect on the health of human beings.