Many countries face the problem of low voter turnout in their democratic elections. What are the problems associated with this and what can be done to remedy it?

"The ballet is stronger than a bullet”-words by Abraham Lincoln points out the importance of the ballot in a democratic country. Nowadays, many countries are facing the issue of reduced number of voters in their respective provinces. In this essay, we can discuss the substantial cons and can find out some possible remedies To begin with, anyone who has the right to poll is a vote. Voters plays the most important role in making sure that, the government reflected their desires and functioned according to the guidelines of the Constitution. But, nowadays, many people fail to appreciate or acknowledge their role in shaping the government. Furthermore, the outcomes of elections can impact the voter’s personal freedoms, taxes, and other aspects of daily life that they take for granted. The recent studies show that, the young people are more often transient and perhaps, they often feel less invested in local elections. For instance, the voting percentage in Bengaluru has been the lowest in the state (less than 50 per cent) for the past 35 years, as there is apathy to polling because urban voters are cynical about the politics without understanding. To continue with, there are many reasons that could be blamed for low voter turnouts. Possible remedies include, firstly, the campaigns may have failed to engage with voters. So the campaigns must have to be appealing and promising. Secondly, laws should be passed for mandatory voting. Punishments should be given in the form of fines and equivalent for registered voters, who break the law by not taking part in the democratic process More than 20 countries observe some form of compulsory voting in national elections. For instance, Australia, Brazil, Luxembourg and Peru. In addition, elections should have to be taken place on public holidays which can guarantee the participation of citizens to an extent, without having to worry about arriving late or leaving early from work. To sum up, voters play a central role in shaping the government and their very futures. Because of the far reaching impact that an election can have, people have the duty to cast their ballot if they want a say in how their futures play out. Awareness should be created for the elections and thereby increase the voter turnout.