Health services are the basic necessity for a person. Private companies have made the health services quite costly for ordinary individuals. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages?

It is commonly believed that private healthcare services are rather expensive for a normal person. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of health services being profit making companies. In my opinion, the disadvantage outweighs advantage. On the one hand, a state-owned institution may benefit from private health companies. This is because private hospitals may share responsibilities with state hospitals in taking care of social health. Specifically, private institution able reduce the pressure on state-owned in term of overload of patients and finance. With a patient being allocated to a private hospital, the waiting lists for examination and operation significantly shortened in a public hospital. As a result, the private system enables avoid being overloaded while state organization will have more people and facility resources to be available. Furthermore, the patient would be treated with high quality as more machines and medical staffs. The staff would be utilized per one individual. On the other hand, the biggest drawback of the private healthcare system is its fee being expensive for many usual people. For instance, treatment fee for a patient in a private hospital can be twice or three times as high as it should be in those subsidized by the government. With such a high cost, only the affluent can afford a treatment in a private hospital while those with low salary cannot. Therefore, this situation would worsen the well-being of the society and deepen the gap between the rich and the poor. In conclusion, although private hospitals truly reduce the pressure on government-owned hospitals, the profit-yielding health care system may put a great burden on clients due to the expensive cost of treatment. Accordingly, I believe the disadvantage is obviously outweighed the advantage.