Advances in science and technology and other areas of society in the last 100 years have transformed the way we live as well as postponing the day we die. There is no better lime to be alive than now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Over the past hundred years we have seen rapid developments in various aspects of sociology, chemistry, physics, medicine, communication and mechanics. Our forefathers could have only dreamt of these drastic improvements. The reality is this is most definitely not the best time to be alive. I strongly believe so, and I completely disagree with the statement. On the one hand, the advancement in medicine has been able to prolong activity, but I do not feel the worth of this. The quality of life has declined quite dramatically in comparison to the last century. To state an example, the nutritional value of agricultural produce has been gradually worsening. Furthermore, the stressful lifestyle, has led to the discovery of various conditions taking away the joy of living. At the same time, the progress in the area of communication and mechanics has been so vast, it has hindered with our way of life. Today, technology governs humans, not the other way around. For instance, the younger population finds it increasingly difficult to spend the day without a mobile device proving how their lives revolve around the handset. Additionally, machinery has become so integral in our community, it has become daunting to differentiate between the two. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the fact that there is no better time to be alive than now. I feel the previous generations have truly enjoyed life as compared to the present.