The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

During the last decade the rate of children’s obesity is increasing, especially in places located in the west. This essay will discuss the causes of this problem, including the sedentary lifestyle that children have. This essay will also suggest effects, mentioning the diseases that overweight generates in their near future. To begin with the causes, there are plenty of unhealthy habits that the little ones are adopting. An example is the sedentary life that they are having every day, without practicing exercise at all. The excessive use of computers and video games have decreased their interest of healthy activities as play football in the park. Also, students at school usually go with their friends to eating at fast food restaurants. Thus, it represents a negative habit, eating hamburgers and fried food that increases their weight. On the other hand, there are detrimental effects that this situation will generate. In the near future these children will be adults with several chronic diseases, related to heart and respiratory system. Furthermore, it is common that people with obesity suffer depression and problems in their self-esteem. These kind of disorders bring issues to having an active social life and obtaining a job as well, failing in job interviews. Indeed, It means that these children will need psychological assistance in the future. In conclusion, the child obesity rate is increasing day after day in western society. Bad habits about physical activity and food generate it. Therefore, It causes plenty of chronic mental and physical issues, affecting their lives and needing medical and psychological assistance to improve their health.