Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals to tackle this issue?

It is true that global warming has become a grave problem faced by the world today. There are some factiors that have contributed to global warming; however, there are also measures that both the governments and indivuduals can take to addrsss this pressing issue. There are four main causes for the current global warming problem. One is the burning of fossil fuels. When people burn fossil fuels like coal and oil to generate electricity and power for vehicles, it releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which in turn pollutes the atmosphere. Carbon fuels such as petroleum and diesel release particles that are not only dangerous to plants and animals but also to the environment by causing global warming. Another factor that contributes to global warming is deforestation. Forests and bush land act as carbon sinks and are valuable means of managing global warming; palm oil producing countries, for example, contribute to deforestation by clearing trees using the slash and burn method employed by farmers. This practice leads to air pollution and haze as well as global warming. The third cause is cattle farming, where animals, such as sheep and cattle produce methane, a greenhouse gas. Another factor is the fertilisers that farmers use, which also release nitrous oxide, another greenhouse gas. One practical solution to this problem is that governments could introduce policies and regulations on renewable energy such as solar and wind. If this were done, power plants would be required to use solar energy to produce electricity, which would help reduce global warming. Meanwhile, the governments could encourage car users to opt to purchase electrical vehicles that produce zero emissions, which would help improve air quality in urban areas. Also, politicians should pass a bill in parliament to stop excessive tree clearing. Moreover, non-governmental organisations could launch a “Plant a-Tree ” campaign to create awareness among communities on ways to slow down climate change. Farmers could also use alternative stock feed to reduce methane gas emissions which trap heat in the atmosphere. Subsequently, the change in farming practices can help ease agricultural activities as carbon food print. In conclusion, global warming is caused by burning fossil fuels, deforestation and agricultural activities. It is the responsibility of both governments and individuals to mitigate global warming. Governments should enforce strict policies and regulations while individuals should also play their part by abiding by the regulations and making sustainable choices.