In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In this contemplate era, many people prefer to shop from big markets or malls rather than small vendors or local retailers if I talk about the positive development that it is easy for customer to get everything in need under one roof however I would say it will impose a negative effect in the long run. Discussing both, will state my reasoning in the essay below. To begin with, today's population is much more educated than ever before in some families each and every member of the family is working and of course they wanted to spare some of their time to spend with their loved ones and if they choose to shop their needs from local markets or shops it will be more time consuming for this they prefer to buy products from the stores where they can get everything under one roof and with easy availability. Secondly, the material in big malls is presented in a good manner and people opt to buy quality or branded products which attracts more shopping centres than small shops. On the other hand, due to increase in supermarkets the low income group public who is dependable on their shops are getting affected in the long run somehow will make the society vulnerable as unemployment rates will thrive which will cause several more effects like an increase in crime rates and much more. For instance, the population of the country like India is in billions and millions of people depends upon their small businesses if these get closed it will make these people free which will cause several problems in the long run or to the overall economy. To conclude, I would say it is not denying that big shopping malls are helpful for people who are working and who only prefers branded or quality product however if small shops get closed it will affect the employment rate and the economy as a whole.