In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However, some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution . To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Despite the popularity of prison sentences as the way to control illegalities, improvements in education have gained social endorsement as a means to eliminate the problem from its root. In my opinion, I disagree that discipline is the best one as it is rather impossible to compare these two method’s effectiveness owing to their distinct impacts. On the one hand, the reasons why prisons are of indispensable necessity for social security are varied. They are the place to keep people who have broken the law contained, ensuring the safety of other citizens. Especially, dangerous criminals such as murderers or rapists have to be imprisoned for their heinous actions. Furthermore, severe prison sentences act as a deterrent against crimes. Knowing there might be a chance of getting caught and condemned to jail, which also means losing freedom and living a miserable life in a cell, the ones who are having the intention of committing illegalities would reconsider going down the path. On the other hand, schooling serves as a remedy for the origin of crimes. Education contributes greatly to heighten people’s intellect and to form a civilized society. With access to better educational services, citizens would be well-informed about the damage that committing crimes would cause to their community and themselves, which eventually leads to the decline in crime rates. Additionally, the possession of certain qualifications through fundamental training like vocational training could secure a person’s stable life, which would dispel any ideas of committing crimes. In conclusion, I believe there is no absolute way to deduce whether imprisonment policies or better education would take the dominant role in dealing with crimes as they both tackle the problem just in different ways. (280 words)