People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do the bene fits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Translation apps are gaining traction in our society for professional and personal use. Travelers and business professionals around the world relying heavily on it. Such global knowledge sharing is defi nitely benecial for everyone. The translation apps and services are handy and convenient to use. People are able to quickly communicate with locals. They avoid the language learning curve, which is a tedious job in itself. To give an example, cross border business and travel have risen astronomically in the Eastern Asian countries like Japan and India. Tourism to India has almost doubled in the last five years. Japanese visa applications are increasing at 50% rate Year on Year from India. In addition to that, translation apps are computer software services that keep on improving as the user base grows. And it's a many to many translations, as in, English is now translated to every major and minor language of the world and in return, major languages like Hindi, Japanese, Chinese, can be translated back to English. The flip side is, it leed to a dramatic decline in the language learning process itself. And associated with it, is the existential crisis of languages. Data shows that 400 languages that were once cataloged in the year 2000, have vanished as per the linguists of the University of California. In addendum to that, the multi-lingual human cognitive capacity becomes dormant, as we now outsource that activity to language translation apps. In conclusion, I would say that the pros out ways the cons. The language translation apps are hence an eminent tool of the human process and ingenuity.