Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Household waste has increased at an alarming rate, but most of them end up in landfills instead of being recycled. Some people think that a legal requirement for recycling residential waste is an effective way to increase the recycling rate. In my opinion, legal enforcement should not be the only method to employ; there are other measures that the government should take into consideration. From my perspective, most people do not take recycling seriously since they think it is not their responsibility. Therefore, a law on recycling is one way to change their behavior manner of acting or controlling yourself behaviour, for the consequences of not adhering to the law could be unpleasant. For example, homeowners who fail to obey the law might receive punishments, ranging from non-custodial sentences such as fines to even prison sentences. It is evident that in countries, such as Sweden and Singapore, where not recycling waste is seen as wrongdoing, homeowners put more effort into recycling. Nevertheless, a legal obligation is not the only measure to encourage people to recycle more. The crux of the low recycling rate is that people are not aware of how important recycling is. Hence, governments should invest in programs or campaigns that raise people’s awareness of the detrimental effects caused by household waste disposal, at the same time, give guidance on how to recycle waste. In addition, recycling facilities should be easy to use and within an easy reach for householders. Another tactic that governments should adopt is making recycling a part of school education. For example, when students learn how to recycle at school, they are likely to recycle at home as well. More importantly, recycling would become a natural thing for them to do, not just an obligation. In conclusion, although laws can be an effective method to increase the recycling rate, governments should not rely only on legal obligations, but rather put greater emphasis on educating people on the importance of recycling.