TOPIC: Whoever controls the media controls the mind. Discuss this statement and give your own opinion.

Since their dawn, the media has exerted a noticeable leverage on the attitudes and mindsets of the general public. Regarding its influence, there is a statement that " Whoever controls the media controls the mind." From my personal perspective, while the manipulative power of media is inevitable, not all people are brainwashed by its manipulation. In the first place, those who know to harness social media can possess control of others' mental. Indeed, such channels as Facebook and Twitter are a haven for people who desire fame and recognition on account of its massive users. Therefore, anyone who attracts a fervent following gains is likely to gain a tremendous advantage, as their followers are mentally galvanized to emulate their idols. Celebrity endorsements are a perfect illustration of this point, when an influential figure shows their advocacy for a product that enables a flawless complexion or a slender body, media users are generally led to purchase it despite being in the dark as to its actual efficacy. Their heedless trust on celebrities, however, insinuates an invisible impact that social media have imprinted in their gullible minds. On the other hand, there are certain people who do not fall prey to such media coverage. This is often the case for intellectuals, the academics and educated citizens. Unlike benighted people, these civilized individuals own a holistic repository of knowledge, which affords them a more objective and insightful glimpse into contemporary trends or political propaganda. For instance, the U.S governmental mouthpieces have usually propagandized negative news about Iran as a black hole of violence, indoctrinating their Denizens into a deep-rooted distaste for this country. However, it is experienced travellers that disprove this biased view by providing authoritative videos or documentaries about the peaceful life of the Iranians. More closely speaking, it is knowledge that counteracts the power at the helm of media tycoons. In conclusion, although social channels do bestow a colossal force on the hands of their controllers, they can not brainwash illuminating people with a profundity of knowledge. Hence, if one equips himself with sufficient understandings, he can overcome the predatory and misleading nature of the media's world.