Many small businesses are being forced to close because they cannot compete with multinational corporations. What problems does this cause, and how can those problems be solved?

Many small enterprises are closing down their business because of the tight competition with multinational enterprises. This phenomenon causes issues such as higher unemployment rates and increasing criminality. To address this problem, the government should enact laws to support the growth of small businesses and protect them from unhealthy competition. The highly competitive market may force some small industries to close down their operations and they have to lay off their workers. This situation contributes to the unemployment rates, especially in this difficult economic climate, in which only a few companies open up vacant positions, and landing a job will take time. Hence, under pressing conditions, some people may try to do illegal actions such as pickpocketing or robbing to secure their livelihood. For example, in Malika City, a growing number of criminal cases was reported in 2020, after mass lay-offs in various industries happened due to the difficult economy during COVID-19. To tackle this challenge, the authority should take part in imposing laws to protect small enterprises from losing their market to big players. Some of them are unable to compete with the cheap prices those big manufacturers can offer. Thus the government can implement a minimum standard price to maintain a healthy competitive market without supporting a price war. For instance, local clothing brands are struggling in the US because of the emerging brand Shein from China which offers cheaper prices. The authority imposes a new import law that curbs the volume of items coming into America. In conclusion, the inability of small industries to compete head-to-head with multinational enterprises raises issues regarding the level of unemployment and criminal cases. In a way to address these problems, the government should constitute laws that support small businesses.