Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

In our modern society, the trend of moving to the cities to search for the employment or education by the younger generation has become a matter of discussion for many. Personally, I believe that the positive aspects of this change surpass the negative points. In my opinion, the main reasons behind this tendency are better job opportunities and living standards. In this essay, I shall critically examine the both points of view and outline relevant examples. Today, many youngsters are getting attracted to the numerous job opportunities that are available in the cities, as most of the multinational companies and organisations are situated only in the well developed areas. This is the reason behind this sudden surge in the number of people travelling outside of the rural areas. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University showed that those young people who move outside of their town are 5 times more likely to secure a good high paying job in comparison to those who did not move outside of their rural area. Furthermore, a better quality of the living standards is an another reason for this shift among the younger population. In many countries, even today, a very large number of the rural areas are still severely underdeveloped, thus people living in these areas suffer poor living standards, and therefore, seek a better life in other more developed places. For instance, a report published by the Oxford University press revealed that 75% of the people choose cities or rural towns solely based on the higher living standards. These findings further illustrate the significance of the above mentioned points. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of both sides of the argument, I am inclined to stand in support of my view that the benefits of this new trend clearly outweigh the drawbacks. In the future, we could expect to witness this topic to be debated even further in search of a conclusive answer.