Certain parents believe that good parenting means constantly being involved in the lives of their children. While some parents believe it is better for the development of their children if they learn to deal with situations by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

From pregnancy to potty training, to their first step, parents promote and support the physical, emotional, social and the intellectual development of a toddler. There are two kinds of parents in the planet. Some believe in their child’s capability to deal the situations by themselves and the latter, finds pleasure in supporting and involving all the activities of the youngster. There are both pros and cons for these two styles of parenting. In this essay, let us discuss each of them with examples. To begin with, parenting refers to the intricacies of raising a baby and not exclusively for a biological relationship. Parents, who interfere with every day to day activities of their young, won’t allow them to grow up and become independent. They might believe they are doing the right thing. While, they are actually hurting their children by shielding them from life. “Helicopter” parents begin this pattern when their children are young, doing so to protect them from disappointment and mistakes. Moreover, they are caging their young ones from the outer world. This hovering may continue until the marriage of their son or daughter, sometimes in worse scenario it will continue after that. Nowadays, it goes off the limit. For instance, When they hear that their child is having a rough time with a professor or a classmate, the parents call or email the dean of students, demanding them to find a way of relieving the stress on their child. Sometime, it will go out of the circle and the parents take a decision of changing the off spring’s school. These can negatively affect the kids, as they find fleeting away from the dilemma as the first option when they face a difficult situation. Perhaps, they are so dependent on their parents and unable to make even small decisions. On the other hands, it is important to create a secure feeling in kids that, the parents will be there for them when they are in trouble. Firstly, the uninvolved parent, can create a number of problems for children that may follow them into adulthood. Moreover, a secure attachment results when a minor feels her parents are dependable; she knows what to expect and that they will provide support. The adolescent usually feels comfortable exploring her globe and is able to learn because she has security. Secondly, the strength of a person derives mainly from the security they receive. For instance, a woman, said to be the weakest (even though it is not), will explore the outer culture if she gets enough support. It could be in the form of love, money or the care. However, aggressive behaviour develops when he/she feel ignored by the parents. To sum up, the authoritative parenting style, in which parents are warm, loving and still set definite limits, seems to be the most effective. A bird in a gilded cage will never learn to fly or sing with happiness. The future of youth is in the hands of their caretakers. In my opinion, the parents should supervise their juvenile with love and at the same time, they must allow them to think and take the decision by themselves, the parents can pave the way, but can’t compel. Last but not the least, nurture the seed with love and attention, allow them to flourish in the light, not in the shade.