News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

It is often said that pictures speak louder than words. I suppose this maxim goes well with the way news stories are presented by newspapers and television channels. Some people say that it is better to use more pictures. I agree with this viewpoint to a great extent. A pictorial and graphical depiction of news stories can be very appealing and convincing. It can furthermore cheer up the mood of the readers. For example, a candid picture of a rejoicing sports team after winning a world cup trophy will warm many hearts. Sometimes, it may just take a single photograph to narrate a sordid tale or describe the enormity of the situation. For instance, a front page image of a crying child in a flood affected surrounding speaks volumes. To cite another example, the portrait of the grieving family of a martyred solider can have quite an impact on the reader / the nation. Furthermore, news with photos arouses the reader’s interest to a large extent. In my favourite newspaper ‘Bombay Times’, pictures of various celebrities compel me to read the articles about them. Depending on our interest area, a related picture can draw our attention to read the entire article. Lastly, news with pictures can be comprehended in a relatively shorter time than words. In our busy lives, a quick glance over some news headings and images in the morning newspaper may sound better than reading full news. On the other hand, I feel care should be taken not to share pictures of some confidential, sensitive and obscene contents. In addition, some articles on research, surveys and writer’s opinion are best to be read at full length without the accompaniment of pictures. In summary, I believe pictures in the newspapers and TV channels can create a lasting impression on our mind with their positive, powerful or heart-rending message. They also make the news stories more interesting and easy to comprehend.