In most countries multinational companies and their products are becoming more and more important. This trend is seriously damaging our quality of life. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to the globalisation era, the world has experienced dramatic changes, especially in regards to corporations which are spread around the world. As a consequence, their products are available everywhere. Nonetheless, the expansion of big business has both advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, the expansion of corporations is a reason for reducing the unemployment rate. In other words, big companies can help governments to address the problem of unemployment by creating more job opportunities. Moreover, another benefit of multinational companies is a significant increase in consumer choice. By virtue of this fact, local people will have more products to choose. Indeed, an increase in consumer choice has another positive side such as competition. Furthermore, based on economic law, proper competition among the companies generates rapid growth in innovation, improvements in quality and in price reduction. However, there are some disadvantages of multinational companies and their products. Firstly, the intercontinental company could become a monopoly with the help of resources and power. In fact, by dominating in the market, such a corporation questions the existence of competitors. Secondly, multinational companies could have an effect on the pollution level within the region, due to production volumes and factory size. As a result, pollution level can get out of control without proper supervision. Besides, intercontinental businesses create one-way raw materials consumption. In other words, many multinationals go into a new country looking to extract taw materials such as oil or precious metals. All in all, despite that multinational companies damaging peoples' quality of life, I believe that the country may benefit from it. Additionally, intercontinental businesses also improve the economy of the country, provide job opportunities for locals and encourage competition.