In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their ageing members. Do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Nowadays, many elderly people prefer to live in nursing homes after retirements. However, some people think that they should stay with their families as it is their responsibility to look after them. I partially agree with this statement and discuss about it in the essay. To begin with, individuals living in retirement homes often feel lonely there. In other words, they do not get to see their loved ones, and family-visits are not so frequent. Moreover, living in one's home is a wonderful thing as they get proper attention from the family members and love from their grandchildren. For instance, our grandparents lived with us, and my mother and father took care of them, and I often went to parks with them due to which they never felt alone while living with us. Besides this, many times, the elders need special care which they do not get at these retirement homes. This is because there are other oldies living there too, and it is impossible for the nurses look after them individually. Therefore, these places are not perfect for the old-age individuals. However, things have changed now, and maximum couples are working; thus, they have to live alone the maximum time as nobody is available to them. Furthermore, many people become tender with ageing, and they become dependent on others for petty things. Therefore, it is not easy to manage everything at the houses in such conditions. In conclusion, although old-age homes are not the perfect places for elderly people, it is the responsibility of the families to serve them. While this might not be possible at all the times as sometimes it is difficult to provide them with proper care due to today's working culture.