As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

After college, most people will likely find a job in order to have income and be financially independent. They spend most of their time working from Monday to Friday, 8 hours a day. Hence, it is crucial to determine the satisfaction that comes within for their own wellbeing. Therefore, in this essay, I will present some factors that contribute to job satisfaction and discuss the expectation of it in reality. After graduating, most people dream of being able to work in a big company. They believe that big companies can pay them well and give them all the facilities that they need. For instance, my friends really want to work at Google as it is said that Google gives free breakfast every morning and it offers a lot of facilities such as massage chairs for its employees. Additionally, Google pays them double compared to other small companies and it allows them to work from home. However, in reality, most companies do not really care about their staff. Hence, people become unloyal to their company. One of the main reasons is too many workloads and toxic environment that results in dissatisfaction. For instance, after being accepted by Google, my friend seems to be stress as she needs to finish tons of deadlines. Moreover, her boss is not kind towards her. He is always angry and use inappropriate words when she is at fault. Ultimately, I believe that some people might have too high expectations for a company. They are being unrealistic about it, which leads them to disappointment.