Some people think public libraries are necessary, others believe that the public libraries are useless. What is your opinion and provide with some relevant examples.

With electronic books gaining mainstream popularity, the question of whether public libraries are required in this day and age has left the people divided among their opinions. Some believe that they are essential, while others think that libraries are no more needed. However, in my opinion, libraries are necessary. This essay will discuss why, despite declining popularity, libraries will remain an important part of the society that live in. To begin with, public libraries are essential to research and education. Most of these libraries were built thousands of years ago and hold the most sought after books and scriptures. They have done a tremendous job to preserve centuries old text in the best possible manner. Researchers and students alike utilize these facilities to aid their research. To illustrate, results of a recent poll conducted by the University of Texas, depicted that majority students who were pursuing a doctorate degree, relied on libraries for most of their research needs. For these reasons, public libraries will continue to have an everlasting cultural impact and will always remain relevant. On the contrary, there are people who opine that libraries are a thing of the past and are not needed any further. This is because readers can read most of the books in electronic format from the comfort of their homes. They argue that their maintenance requires a significant amount of tax payer’s money and are a burden on the government. Moreover, a select group of people also think that libraries occupy large spaces that can be efficiently used otherwise for different welfare projects such as building hospitals and foster care centres. In fact, a while ago a group of protestors vandalized Victorian State Library and demanded construction of an old aged care facility in its place. To conclude, though public libraries may be less popular today, they still are important from a traditional and cultural standpoint. Their contribution towards society in terms of research and education is immense and they must be preserved at all costs.