In some countries people are forced to retire when they reach a certain age. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Many countries the retirement age varies between 60 to 65 years, and many elderly employees are forced to retire when they reach this age. The main advantage of this is that the younger population will get employment, however, the disadvantage is that company may lose a well-experienced employee. One of the significant benefits to retiring forcefully by the organization is that the fresher employee will get the chance to show their skills. To elucidate, in many countries, having more trust in their seniors’ employees, often companies do not promote young population to show their talent while working. If such older employees are compelled to leave at the retirement age, the youngsters’ can show their skills and get promotions and good salary. As a result, more jobs would be created in companies for them. For instance, the well-known company in India, Reliance has retired their 60% of aging employees who were at the age of retirement, created more jobs in the companies, and given the chance to many new employees to show their skills. The main disadvantage of this trend is that losing the valuable asset of the company. It is true that these elderly employees have vast knowledge and wider experience in their respective field since they started working and these talents are a valuable asset to any organization. If they are forced to retire from the job, the organization might lose such an asset. For instance, Mr Murty, the Project Director, working with Tata Motors and lead many important projects had been forced to retire at the age of 60 years, which resulted in delayed a lot in the completion of future projects of the company. In conclusion, the positive side of the retirement of the elderly employee is that the younger population will get an opportunity to show their talent. Nonetheless, the company might lose its important employees who have experience of many years.