Some people think that the Internet makes a person more sociable, while others think it makes a person less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In our modern society, the idea that the internet could make people more sociable as opposed to making them less social has become a matter of discussion for many. In my opinion, the internet has affected our social life in a positive manner, it allows us to communicate with others regardless of physical distance. In this essay, I shall critically examine both the points of view and outline relevant examples to support my side. On one hand, social networking websites permit people to interact with others outside of their immediate surroundings. This is because of the recent advancements made in our telecommunication and mobile technology, which provides us with a number of ways to contact family members or loved ones. Adding to this, mobile applications such as Whatsapp and Facebook, enable people to make live video calls and exchange pictures or audio through their cell phones. This has further enhanced our today's human communication. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of this development. Firstly, nowadays, many people have developed an addiction towards social networking sites, which prevents them from socializing with others in real life. Furthermore, in-person social interaction is fruitful in the level of human contact, which means, it enables to form a deep emotional and social link with others. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University showed that those who maintain a real life connection with their friends or family members, were 5 times more likely to keep these connections for the entire life in comparison to those who did not. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of the subject, I am inclined to say that the positive aspects of the growing online communication surpass the negative points, and it is safe to say that it has benefited modern human social interaction greatly.