These days, problems with pollution are becoming worse, particularly in large cities. What are the reasons for this and how can this be solved? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The global phenomenon of urbanization since the beginning of industrialisation to the present day has brought opportunity and prosperity, albeit at a cost in quality of life. Nowadays, most of the metropolitan cities around the world are struggling to deal with overgrowing pollution issues. The primary causes and solution for this issue are outlined below. To begin with, the central reason behind this epidemic is twofold, firstly, due to the surge in human population, the demand for the resources has increased significantly. In order to provide a sustainable supply the number of industries across the globe is expanding rapidly. Since, these industries are disposing their waste in air and water bodies, thus the level of environmental infection is rising. Secondly, owning to the recent economic avalanche, the amount of traffic on the roadways of the major cities has grown dramatically, which in turn is escalating the air pollution. For example, a recent study published by the Oxford University stated that, from last 50 years the number of cars running on the roads has increased by 70% and correspondingly the amount of pollutants in the air has extended by 93%. However, considering the solutions, the government should make greater investments in public transport. In theory, this would encourage people to travel via buses and trains then their own cars, as a result, there will be less vehicles running on the highways and the pollution levels will decline enormously. Furthermore, the multinational companies should adopt a more Eco friendly approach towards product manufacturing and waste disposal method. This will further reduce the environmental degradation. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, it is clear because of the overpopulation and high living standards of the society, the issue of pollution is rising at a faster pace. However, various solutions exist to mitigate such drawbacks, but nevertheless a definite solution has yet to be found.