Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss bọth views and give your own opinion.

There exists a controversial idea that the global impoverishment and the shortage of food would only be terminated if economic development were ensured to happen vigorously. However, others assert that this development brings the extreme destruction of the natural habitats, which is by all means required to be ceased. This essay would make an attempt to shed some light on both assertions and I would live to give my own point of view. In the first place, several plausible explanations could be held responsible for the potential ability of a growing economy to put an end to global poverty and hunger. Firstly, one could believe that the unemployment rate would fall sharply as long as the economic conditions were enhanced. In other words, a great number of jobless citizens would be hired in many heavy industrial fields or other well-paid occupations due to the fact that numerous vacancies would likely await competent candidates to fill. Secondly, it is true that if the economic situation were greatly improved, a national government would have sufficient funds and constant money inflow resulting from domestic and foreign trade and other economic activities. Consequently, these profits would be well distributed to needed areas and fields, providing a higher living standard for people there. On the other hand, I am in favour of the suppression of economic growth because the nature is suffering from the consequences it has created. Undeniably, the heavy industry is one of the major culprits for the degradation the natural habitats. For example, trees and forests are chopped down on a frequent basis to make room for steel plants or chemical factories. Furthermore, these plants usually emit an immense amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which is extremely hazardous to the ozone layer. Another worth mentioning case is that the cutthroat competition among reckless rivals could become too fierce that they solely give attention to their profits without considering the devastating consequences they bring upon the surroundings. The Earth being an uninhabitable planet would be the worst scenario in the near future if this ongoing process continued. In conclusion, I suggest that the economic growth’s seemingly fruitful results could not be in a position to offset the environmental deterioration it would cause, therefore, this trend is obligated to be stopped.