Some people think that public libraries are necessary, while others believe that nowadays public libraries are no longer important. What is your opinion?

People these days hold different views regarding the necessity of public libraries, as there are some who consider them to be very essential. On the other hand, some others believe government-libraries have lost their importance in recent years. In my view, no doubt the significance of libraries has lowered in recent years, but no other means of information can ever fully replace them. This essay will discuss why the importance of libraries cannot be entirely vanished. To start with, it is clearly evident that the libraries are losing their usefulness as compared to the earlier times. Many other resources of knowledge and books are available these days with the advent of digitalisation and better internet facilities, which provide E-books and many audio-video notes on every topic possible. For instance, a website named pdfdrive provides free access to download a large number of books on almost all the topics, so this acts as a virtual library. These make the material quite handy, which can be used on mobile phone, laptops or any other device. In addition, online notes and resources, saves the time and hustle of going out to the libraries and finding the right data out of a number of books. For these reasons, the libraries can become less valuable. Conversely, there are few resources that one can only be found in the libraries and not elsewhere. These include old and ethnic books and documents, which are still not available online. Furthermore, the literature available on the internet is mostly in English language, however, the libraries provide writings in different languages such as French, Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu, etc. So, these features are difficult to be replaced and hence the libraries cannot totally lose the position. In conclusion, it appears to me that a number of features of the libraries are being overtaken by other resources. However, libraries still hold a position due to the availability of some rare and important data in them. Ultimately, only few reasons are available that are still working in the favour of libraries, but will keep them in working state.