For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is as important as the ability to read and write. How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

Music is a quintessential and indispensable part of human life from as long as melodies were created by our everyday tools. However, playing a musical instrument is at the other end of the spectrum that requires one’s determination, efforts, time and passion and it's certainly not meant for everyone. Children for as young as 4 years old are now told by their parents to pick up musical instruments, many adhere to it without doubts. Thus, I largely disagree with this statement as not every child is born with a musical talent and learning an instrument can affect our child development. I will examine in this further essay. It is an undeniable fact that every child is born with a talent in a particular field, but it has not necessarily been music. Be it in mathematics, art or literature, etc., children must be the one making the decision and not parents. Children will choose whether they want to learn a new skill by relating it to their habits, characters and passions. If it is not compatible with them and they still have to learn it by compulsory, many will start to develop a strong dislike and hatred towards it. Not to mention the rigorous environment with years of practicing towards what is called perfection and the competitive nature of the music world in order to produce music geniuses have put many in anxiety and depression. Thus, by making it obligatory for children to play an instrument, we are putting our child at risk of possessing obsessive behaviour. Moreover, writing or reading are basic skills that help fulfil our basic needs for communication and socializing with other people. Generally speaking, without these skills, our child will be isolated from the rest of the world and their life will be severely impacted. Unlike these skills, not knowing how to play an instrument neither does harm to one’s life, nor avert one from having a job. To sum up, playing a musical instrument is not something that everyone can do, considering how each and every person is a unique and distinctive individual. Not everyone is musically talented and forcing our child to do something that they have no interests in, can lead to many repercussions and affecting our child ’s growth and mental health.