Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities around the world are now "one big traffic jam". How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Owing to the tremendous increase in the number of people owning cars in cities over the recent past, has resulted in traffic become greatly congested. I could not agree more with the view that greater car ownership has resulted in increased traffic issues. New car sales have far outpaced any new infrastructure development in terms of roads. There has been an exponential increase in car ownership, however, the roads and highways have by and large remained same as they were several decades ago. As a result, they are totally inadequate to cope with this vast number of cars being added to the traffic flow each year, thus resulting in congestion, traffic being backed up for miles, especially around city centres where it is not uncommon to find bumper to bumper traffic at almost all hours of the day. Therefore, I think the statement is completely accurate, that cities have become traffic logged. In order to dissuade people to use their cars, the government can take several steps. Firstly, it should focus on improving and expanding public transport facilities and options, which is the key in addressing this issue. The main reason people drive their own cars is because, public transport is often unreliable, or just does not serve the majority of the population. Government ought to focus on providing faster, more efficient means of transportation to its residents, especially around busy city centres, so that people will feel less urge to use their own vehicles. Furthermore, the government can levy taxes on new car sales, which can be utilized to improve roads and other related facilities. In addition to this, local city councils can impose fees for people driving personal cars when entering urban areas in major cities, especially during rush hours. In conclusion, emphasis on improving public transportation along with common sense measures from the government can greatly reduce the challenges caused by increased car ownership.