More and more people are buying things on the internet like air tickets, books and groceries making online shopping more popular with every passing day. Does the advantages of such shopping outweighs the disadvantages?

The trend of e-shopping in purchasing things like common household items, books, and plane tickets, is on the rise nowadays. In my opinion, I believe that although online shopping may have a few downsides, the advantages it offers like the convenience and availability of stuff at a cheaper rate far out-numbers the possible disadvantages. Understandably, online shopping may have a few drawbacks in the form of an inability to analyse the quality and specifications of a product before buying it. Many a times, the product received through online shopping differs much from the one which is asked for. Thus, in spite of the improvements in the online shopping a barrier still exists between the customers and the sellers that may have an adverse impact on purchasing the goods. Moreover, the cost of the shipment and longer delivery times are thought to be other significant factors that may prevent people from shopping online. Despite the aforementioned drawbacks, nevertheless, online shopping carries various advantages that tempt customers to buy things on the internet. The most obvious positive of online shopping is the convenience it offers to customers in purchasing stuff by sitting at the comfort of their homes. Online shopping obviates the need to visit the marketing offices or grocery stores or stand in long queues to buy something. For instance, e-ticketing has enabled passengers to procure their air tickets online instead of going to the customer's counter to purchase one. Moreover, customer satisfaction is another important benefit that encourages people to shop online. This is because e-shopping enables buyers to compare the quality and prices of a particular item that is available in different stores. The competition in the e - market compels sellers to ask a reasonable price at least, if not offering rebates. Similarly, the option of leaving feedback about the seller not only gives confidence, but also guides other buyers in purchasing goods. Consequently, a considerable hike in the proportion of the customers who are shopping online from websites, like Alibaba and Amazon, has been observed in the West that signifies how popular e-shopping is becoming with every passing day. In conclusion, despite a few negatives that online shopping may carry, the advantages it offers like convenient purchasing at a cheaper rate and better customer satisfaction far outweighs the possible drawbacks.