In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. it is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Owing to an increased intake of fast food, a large number of people in certain countries are having health issues and to deal with this problem, it is suggested that governments ought to impose higher taxes on it. In my opinion, I agree that higher taxes on fast food is the best way to deal with this problem. An increasing intake of fast food has resulted in deterioration of the health in a vast number of people, as it is very affordable. Junk food is often very cheap and, therefore, much more likely to be consumed by a wider section of the population. Levying a higher tax will lead to an increase in the price of such food, consequently making it less attractive to the majority of people, as a result, less people will fall into the habit of eating unhealthy food. This could also then prompt fast food chains to come up with healthy alternatives, which would be a win win situation for everyone involved. Furthermore, the money earned from this tax can be used to spread and create awareness about the importance of healthy eating habits and highlight the problems associated with junk food, such as obesity, diabetes and heart issues. In other words, the ideal method to encourage people to reduce consumption of junk food is by providing dietary information for the most commonly consumed such foodstuff items. In addition, this money can also be used towards funding well-being and sports activities in schools for children, since they are the largest group impacted by this problem. Therefore, ensuring a healthy generation of fit individuals, which should improve the overall health of a society and the country as well. In conclusion, to overcome the challenge of the deteriorating health of its citizens, the ideal response that countries worldwide can adopt, is to impose higher taxes on such food items.