In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sports on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sports themselves. Discuss the view and give your opinion.

Sports matches broadcast is a regular feature in some channels around the world. According to some people this is a discouraging factor for the youth to take part in sporting activities themselves. In my opinion, the sports channels are an encouragement for youth to participate in sports. The sports match shown on national television are very interesting and act as driving force for the youngsters to play. The national players who perform well in matches become the role models of youth and children try to impersonate them by copying their bowling or bating styles. For example, after every India and Pakistan cricket match who are traditional rivals, we see a lot of players like Shahid Afridi on the streets. Hence, children should be encouraged to watch sports channels as the exciting matches tempts children for games. There are children who get addicted to watching television, but this is not because of the sports channels. They have been witnessed to watch any sort of programme. This group resembles our elderly class who can not play because of the physical disability, but the youngsters would not play because of laziness. This attitude can be curbed by enforcing restrictions on how many matches they can watch and compulsory physical activity time in their schedule. Hence, the sports channels can not be blamed for the lazy attitude of a few children. In conclusion, the sports channels are an important stimulator of physical activity in young children and they should be encouraged to watch and play the games.