Write about the following topic. Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Nowadays, many universities are offering online education and courses to help students in studying without actually coming to the universities. In my opinion, I consider that the benefits that stems from online learning like adult education, helping students in attending the foreign courses make it rather a positive trend. The most important plus of e-learning is that it gives adults, a chance to pursue their educational careers besides going to the job. As most of the grown ups have to work to earn their livelihood, they never find a chance to resume their studies. Thanks to the e-learning that they can study now and attend lectures at their convenience, in order to improve upon their educational career. For instance, a recent survey that was conducted in Pakistan shows that more than 50% of adults, between the ages of 40-50years, are involved in taking some kind of online literacy classes to progress in their professional careers. Thus, learning online has opened new avenues for those grownups who eagerly want to improve upon their education standards. Moreover, another factor that makes online learning a more viable option is that it helps those students who aspire to get a foreign qualification, but lack finances. Online learning obviates the need to go abroad and manage costlier lodging, besides paying the expensive fees. Online learning has come up with a hope for such students who can now fulfil their dreams, taking admissions in online learning programmes being run by various international universities. For example, around 35% of the pupils attending the e-learning classes at the Oxford university, UK portal, belong to the foreign countries. Thus, students can yet take on the international courses and degrees through studying online from the comfort of their homes. In conclusion, I strongly believe that online learning has revolutionised our educational system. An increasing number of students can seek both local and foreign degrees without any age bar. It is suggested that the government should take appropriate steps to facilitate online learners for the sake of an educated society.